Lab Advantage

Our Mission: To transform health care into a high-reliability industry by developing highly effective, durable solutions to health care’s most critical safety and quality problems in collaboration with health care organizations, by disseminating the solutions widely, and by facilitating their adoption.

About the Joint Commission Center for Transforming Healthcare

Created in 2008, the Joint Commission Center for Transforming Healthcare aims to solve health care’s most critical safety and quality problems. The Center’s participants–some of the nation’s leading hospitals and health systems – use a systematic approach to analyze specific breakdowns in care and discover their underlying causes to develop targeted solutions that solve these complex problems. In keeping with its objective to transform health care into a high reliability industry, The Joint Commission shares these proven effective solutions with the nearly 21,000 health care organizations it accredits and certifies. Hospitals have made significant advances in quality–even better results are now achievable. Hospitals and The Joint Commission are working together to improve systems and processes of care.

Leadership and Staff

Joint Commission Center for Transforming Healthcare Board of Directors:

David L. Bronson, MD, MACP, FRCP Edin, Cleveland Clinic (emeritus) (Chair)
Jane D. Englebright, PhD, RN, CENP, FAAN, Hospital Corporation of America (Treasurer)
L.D. Britt, MD, MPH, DSc (Hon), FACS, FCCM, FRCSEng (Hon), FRCSEd (Hon), FWACS (Hon), FRCSI (Hon), FCS (SA) (Hon), FRCS (Glasg) (Hon), Eastern Virginia Medical School
Mark R. Chassin, MD, FACP, MPP, MPH, President and CEO, The Joint Commission
Najmedin Meshkati, PhD, University of Southern California
Gregg S. Meyer, MD, MSc, Partners HealthCare System
David Perrott, DDS, MD, MBA, FACS, California Hospital Association
Steven S. Sharfstein, MD, MPA, Sheppard Pratt Health System (emeritus)

The officers of the Center include both Joint Commission and Center employees:


Mark R Chassin, M.D., FACP, M.P.P., M.P.H.


Anne Marie Benedicto, MPP, MPH
Vice President


Lisa Diehl Vandecaveye, J.D., M.B.A., HRM, FACHE
Secretary and General Counsel

Paige Rodgers
Chief Financial Officer

Kim Andersen
Assistant Secretary

Participating Organizations

The Center continues to collaborate with participating organizations on targeted initiatives to create solutions that will be disseminated broadly and potentially impact health care throughout the world. To learn more, click here.


Video: Transforming Health Care into a High Reliability Industry